It’s very hard to pack for a trip when you don’t know how long you’ll be gone, where you’re going, or what you’re doing when you get there. However, I’ve decided to go off on this adventure, and so pack I must. I’m sure in a month or two or six, I’ll be able to tell you what was useful and what I got rid of, but here is what I’m taking, so far. Keep in mind that besides an outfit or two for cold weather that I’m leaving at my parents’ place, I’ve gotten rid of everything I own that isn’t coming with me.

  • Clothing: 1 pair of pants, 1 pair of shorts, 3 dresses, 2 t-shirts, 1 long sleeved shirt, 1 thin cashmere sweater, 1 light hoody, 2 pairs of leggings, 4.5 pairs of socks (I can’t bear to throw away the half-pair because it’s my favourite), 2 swimsuits, and undies for seven days. 1 thin rain jacket, 1 toque (will trade for lighter hat when I get there), 1 pair of hiking boots, 1 pair of sandals, possibly 1 pair of light runners.
  • Toiletries: toothbrush, toothpaste, shampoo, chapstick, prescription painkillers, feminine hygiene, Q-tips, toothpicks, hand towel, deodorant, hand cream (might not take that), spare glasses, contact lenses + solution, condoms (thanks, mum!)
  • Gear: 1-man tent, sleeping bag, silk sleeping bag liner, collapsable water bottle, 2 knives, waterproof backpack liner, wrist brace (may abandon if physiotherapist says I won’t need it), purse (will trade for day bag when I get there), flashlight (manual wind-up powered), alarm clock (although my phone might do – we’ll see), miniature hot water bottle (I like to be warm when I sleep).
  • Entertainment: phone (with e-books and music on it), earphones, solar charger, computer (for blogging, writing, and movies), computer charger (too big for solar charger), camera (for Ellen to use – I’ll use my phone for pictures), camera charger, journal/sketchbook, a pen or pencil, a few sheets of watercolour paper, a travel set of acrylic paints and brushes (but I’ll do them watercolour style), a penny whistle (that I can’t play until my wrist heals better, and may get rid of, but not yet), 5 dice for yahtzee, a travel cribbage set, a deck of cards.

It seems like such a lot of stuff, and yet it all fits into my backpack, without anything strapped to the outside except my hiking boots. And then, it doesn’t seem like so much stuff if I consider that that’s EVERYTHING I intend to own for a while. I wish I could justify a pillow, though! What would you / did you take on a grand adventure?

