I know it’s fairly traditional to share one’s resolutions for the coming year and to look back on memories of the last year, but today I’m not going to do either of those things. Instead I want to enjoy being exactly where, when, and what I am.

image

My cousin's coffee farm

I am in Colombia, with my sister, my cousin, her husband, and his extended family. We are on a farm on the side of a mountain, overlooking the city of Pereira. I am surrounded by kids and dogs, flowers, butterflies, birds, coffee plants, and banana trees.

image

Kids and dogs - can't go wrong with that!

I am on an amazing trip around Latin America, with no idea where I might go next or what I might do. I am absolutely right here, in this moment. And I feel pretty confident that the future will handle itself, and be more wonderful than any plan or resolution I could dream up.

Here on this trip I am happy, relaxed, challenged, confident, and growing as a person. I am helping others and improving myself. I am living my dreams. I am changing on this trip whether I make resolutions or not, and I think I will like the me I’m becoming. I look forward to getting to know the future me as she emerges.

So here’s to 2013, and beyond.

