I had two possible posts written for today, but neither seems right. I can hardly follow up yesterday’s post with a discussion of fruit juice or street dogs. So, instead, I thought I’d tell you that Ellen and I are fine, and we’re leaving Colombia. Not to go home, just to be moving on. We’ve seen some sights, eaten some good food, and met some great people. Now it’s time to go do something similar in another country.

image

Yummy homemade Colombian food

We’re going to Ecuador, because it sounds nice and it’s South. We’ve never crossed the equator, so we won’t feel right about visiting South America until we’ve been in the Southern Hemisphere. So far my research indicates that it will be cheap to camp, and there might be more conservation-oriented volunteer work available. If we don’t hear back from the volunteer placements we’ve contacted, we’ll camp and hang out on a beach for a week or two and move on to another country.

image

I hope Ecuador's coffee is as good

Colombia has been amazing and has treated us well. I love its friendly people, its music, and its simple yet delicious food. Tomorrow I’ll post more about Colombia and our time here. In the meantime, here’s a picture or two to distract you.

image

Barbecued meat at the hostel

image

Roadside flowers

image

Birds!

image

Snail on my sandal

image

What vegetable is this? Unidentified market purchase

