I am absolutely enamoured of the insects here in Ecuador. Actually, all through Latin America, Ellen and I have stopped to admire almost every insect we’ve seen. Beetles, stick bugs, spiders, caterpillars, millipedes, moths, butterflies, and flies are all larger, more distinctive, and more plentiful than at home. Let me introduce you to some of our local many-legged friends.

I'm not sure, but I suspect this mandible-y flying creature is one of the loud locust-like insects that keep me awake.

I’m not sure, but I suspect this mandible-y flying creature is one of the loud locust-like insects that keep me awake.

Moth, disguised as a leaf

Moth, disguised as a leaf

Some kind of leaf-eating bug

Some kind of leaf-eating bug

Butterfly

Butterfly

Caterpillar feeding on a lump of something sticky

Caterpillar feeding on a lump of something sticky

Large spider on the ceiling

Large spider on the ceiling

Giant cockroach, about five centimeters (2 inches) wide

Giant cockroach, about five centimeters (2 inches) wide

Millipede - also available in bright red and turquoise blue

Millipede – also available in bright red and turquoise blue

Spiky caterpillar that stings you with its spines

Spiky caterpillar that stings you with its spines

You’d think that after five months in Latin America, I’d tire of taking pictures of bugs. You’d be wrong. Ellen and I have also discovered that we can also consume fresh fruit, homemade bread, and guacamole every day and still be absolutely delighted to be served more. I think some things in life are just plain good. Most things. Maybe it’s easier to say that life is good, full stop. Yeah, I like that.

